Karthik, Shardul in; Rahul out for New Zealand ODIs

Shikhar Dhawan,?Dinesh Karthik?and?Shardul Thakurreturned to?India?ODI squad for the three-match series against?New Zealand?later this month.

Making way for the three were?KL Rahul,?Mohammed Shami?and?Umesh Yadav, while there was still no room for R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja in the?Indian 50-over side.

Shami, who featured in just one match in the five match ODI series against Australia in Bangalore, went for 62 runs in ten wicket-less overs as?India?lost by 21 runs. Umesh, who gave a much better account of himself in the same Bangalore ODI with returns of 4 for 71, were largely surplus to?India’s requirements at home in ODIs.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain),?Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav,?Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and?Shardul Thakur.


First ODI: October 22, Mumbai

Second ODI: October 25, Pune

Third ODI: October 29, Kanpur